Take the Next Step

Take the next step. So easy to say, often so difficult to do. What is the next step? If I take a wrong step, will I be able to go back? What about those who have no choice but to take that step with me?

Right now, I am trying to find that next step myself. I have a strong desire to help others take the next step–in their career, in their business, in their life. I am not sure where that desire will take me.

I met a man yesterday who encouraged me to simply start writing. Another friend this afternoon said to put up a website and see what God will do. So here I am, taking a next step by heeding both of their suggestions. Where will it lead me? I am not sure. What I am sure of right now is God’s promise from Psalm 119:105 “Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path.”

I remember running the trails at Woodland Trails Scout Reservation in Southwest Ohio after dark. I would have a lantern or flashlight and be returning to camp from the evening activities. Sometimes, I would just take a trail, any trail, knowing it was in the general direction back to our camp site. Always, the lantern or flashlight would only illuminate the rocks, roots, and other obstacles directly in front of me, those at my feet. If I tried to look beyond the light, I would trip over what was being illuminated at my feet.

God’s word is a lamp for my feet. He will light the path as far as I need to see, but I need to trust Him to take me where He will. He will light the obstacles for me to avoid and make clear the path I will take. I have enough experience (not that any is needed) to trust Him in that. As I move, so will the lamplight illuminating my path.

3 Comments on “Take the Next Step”

  1. […] ago, I had a difficult time, wondering if I was doing what I should be doing (you can read about it here). That is why I began blogging. I had high hopes of perhaps starting to do private career coaching. […]

  2. […] dream, but it will never become a reality without action. I have written about just taking the one next step. If you take a step and it isn’t the exact right direction, it is not too far to correct. […]

  3. […] ago, I had a difficult time, wondering if I was doing what I should be doing (you can read about it here). That is why I began blogging. I had high hopes of perhaps starting to do private career coaching. […]


Leave a Reply

