Swayed by the Wind

In my experience, when I have been looking for “something else,” plenty of “something elses” always come around. Those somethings are usually great opportunities, things I can do, involve great people and usually great pay. They are challenging and offer excitement. Unfortunately, those somethings do not quite fit the mold I am trying to fill. They usually may fill it well, but not completely.

At one point in my career progression, my wife and I decided to move closer to our extended family. We were living in Charlotte at the time and wanted to return to within a couple hours of our families, in west-central and northwest Ohio. In discussing our goals and defining what we were seeking as we move, high on our list was a smaller community. I interviewed with a college in Indianapolis, enjoyed the people I met, connected with them and knew it was a great opportunity. As Stacy and I returned to Charlotte following the interview, we knew that Indianapolis was not downsizing the community much from Charlotte and was therefore not exactly what we were looking for.

The next day I called and withdrew my name from consideration. At that time, they told me they were about to call to offer me the position–would I reconsider? I told them I would, but through Godly counsel (mainly from my wife), I knew it was not the type of community we were looking for. Our values of family, the pace of the community, and more were not a match, although other things like the opportunity, rate of pay, and job description were perfect.

When you have a goal in mind, sometimes you may be easily swayed by something that is close enough, or to believe that just because the new opportunity is not what or where you are at now, that it is better. God has promised that He will take care of you. He also tells us that his timing is not our timing.

As I work with people, Jeremiah 29:11 is often quoted. Not many people know the context of that verse. Read verses 10-14 (emphasis mine):

This is what the LORD says: “When seventy years are completedfor Babylon, I will come to you and fulfill my good promise to bring you back to this place.  For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.  Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you.  You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.  I will be found by you,” declares the LORD, “and will bring you back from captivity. I will gather you from all the nations and places where I have banished you,” declares the LORD, “and will bring you back to the place from which I carried you into exile.”

Wait on God for that perfect match. There are a lot of great opportunities out there; wait for the path that God will illuminate for you. That path will lead to you fulfilling the purpose God has created for you!

Leave a Reply

