Charting the Road

“Yahweh charts the road you take” (Psalms 1:6, MSG). This brings me comfort. As I struggle to know where this road is taking me, God brought this verse to me this week. It reminds me that he is charting the course. I cannot see the end–or even stops along the way–but He has charted it out. He knows where He is taking me.
In my first post, I wrote about Psalm 119:105. Eugene Peterson writes it this way: “By your words I can see where I’m going; they throw a beam of light on my dark path.” Wow! God is lighting my path, one step at a time. Trust, patience, and movement are my responsibility.

I need to trust that God has charted my path. The psalmist begins the first Psalm with the joys of obeying God and refusing to listen to the naysayers. The best way to build trust in a relationship is to spend time with a person and get to know them. Through daily prayer and study of the Word, I will build that trust through building a relationship with Almighty God. Even though I talk about always taking the next step, there are times when God calls us to be still and stand in awe of God and his power.

I can only see the path at my feet. God does not allow me to see the stops along the way (although I do look forward to the ultimate destination!). So with the trust I need patience. I have been gardening long enough to know that fruit does not just pop out onto the plant. It usually begins as a flower and slowly develops and ripens until it is ready to be enjoyed. Patience is required to enjoy the fruit and to share the fruit.

Finally, movement is required. Paul often uses the analogy of a race to his spiritual journey. In order to win, one has to move. I plan to finish well. God will “throw a beam of light onto my path.” No matter how fast or how slow I go, the light will be there, I just follow the path.

Thank you, God, for bringing peace through your words and through your love.

Leave a Reply

