Stewardship

I just finished reading God and Your Stuff: The Vital Link Between Your Possessions and Your Soul (Designed for Influence) by Wes Willmer. It was a suggested read from a friend who assists non-profit ministries in rethinking fundraising. I read it because it applied to a recent church leadership summit I led. The discussions from that leadership summit coupled with the book brought one question to mind: Am I using all I have to grow God’s kingdom?

The book talked about material and financial possessions. When the topic of stewardship comes up, usually in January during annual “Stewardship Campaigns,” the focus is always financial. My thoughts always travel to the gifts that God has blessed me with and I always wonder if others think about that when they think stewardship as well.

What is stewardship? The act of being stewards of God’s resources. That is it–God has allowed us to steward, or care for, the resources He has given us. Yes, this includes financial and material resources, but also aspects of our lives–spiritual gifts, passions, abilities, personality, and experiences, Rick Warren called this one’s SHAPE.

Going into next week, I am talking with a group of people training to be Stephens Ministers in their church about their SHAPE. My question I will pose to them is this: What SHAPE has God given you to build His kingdom?

Over the last several months, this is the same question I have been dealing with. God has been calling me to something and I have seen trail markings along the way, pointing me in the general direction (I will write on this later). Yet that picture is still fuzzy, a little too far away to be clear.

How about you? What SHAPE has God given you to build His kingdom? Are you using your SHAPE for that purpose?

Leave a Reply

