It’s None of Your Business

Have you ever heard that phrase? Maybe from an older sibling in your youth or from a peer. “Business” may have been rendered “beeswax” or some other phrase, but it is all the same. The point is that you do not need to bother with this because it is not yours. “What I am doing is my life, not yours. Go live your life and let me live mine” is essentially the point they are trying to convey. I remember getting this phrase from a sibling and I have been hearing and seeing it in my home with my children recently. One wants privacy (usually the older), and the younger wants to observe and know everything about the older so that she can emulate her older sister, who she idolizes as way cool (most of the time)!

Jesus even told this to Peter. In the final chapter of John, the resurrected Christ is visiting on the beach with his disciples. He just provided another miraculous catch of fish to his disciples and prepared a meal of fish and bread for them when they were finally able to haul it in (John 21: 1-14). After breakfast, Jesus and Peter took a walk where he commissioned Peter to care for his sheep (v. 15f). The third time Peter reaffirms his love for Jesus, the passage tells us that Jesus continued to tell Peter what following him will look like (v. 17f): “someone else will dress you and lead you where you don’t want to go.” Even so, Peter, “follow me!”

Without reaction (or none recorded by John), Peter looked back and saw John following at a distance, “What about him, Jesus?” Have you ever done that, received instruction and instead of following through with it, worried about how much work your peer would get? I know I am guilty of that. I would ask my parents “Why does she get to do that while I have to do this?” Their response was always “Because I said so.” But Jesus gave Peter a different answer.

“If I want him to remain alive until I return, what is that to you? You must follow me!” (v. 22). Essentially, Jesus is telling him, “Peter, I have different plans for John’s life that are none of your business. Your business is to follow me!” Wow. “Peter, I have a plan for your life. That plan is for you to follow me, that is it. If you follow me I will take care of it. Don’t worry about John, or any of the other disciples, just follow me. Do what I lead you to do.”

“Nick, I have a specific plan your life that is not like anyone else’s, so stay out of their business. All you need to do is follow me and I will take care of everything. Don’t worry about how much money the other disciples are making, I will provide for your needs. Don’t worry about how popular the other disciples are, simply follow me. Don’t worry about the houses the others live in or the cars they drive, follow me and I will take care of everything.” As this realization hit me recently, I have wanted to spend more time with Christ, learning, praying, and just being with him in order to follow him better.

What about you? Are you following Christ with your life? Are you allowing him to lead you and not focusing on those around you? 

Leave a Reply

