Not Running too Fast

red tick graphic

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A couple of weeks ago I wrote about how life was Running too Fast. In that post, I mentioned three things I needed to do in order to slow down and take control of my own life. I thought I would take a little time and follow-up on that post. And maybe there are some things to encourage others in a similar situation.

  1. Check my life plan I am not sure if I have reviewed this since I wrote it about a year ago. My life plan has six areas of focus. In each of those areas, I created three or four very specific ways to grow. I found in reviewing it that I have made some progress in a couple of them, but none at all in a few others. For example, in my daily quiet time, I have struggled with staying focused while praying. One of the things I have done is began to write down those things I pray about. Not only has this helped me to focus, but it has also given me the opportunity to review what I have prayer for in the past and recall several ways that God is answering prayer. I also discovered one area of my life plan that I ignored. I guess it is time to update and create!
  2. Make it a priority I have a dream, but over the last year I have not been working toward it because I had not made it a priority in my life. Over the last few months, I have been able to carve out some time for it as a priority. Although, as I look back on the last few weeks, that priority has been a little off the path. I have been spending a little too much time working around my passion instead of in my passion. For example, if you are a regular blogger, do you get wrapped up in reading and commenting on other blogs rather that writing your own? Both are important, but if you are not working in your passion, you are probably working on someone else’s.
  3. Take action As I reviewed my life plan, I found that I am doing some things that I completely forgot I had written down as goals. It really emphasized to me the importance of simply writing down your goals and dreams.

Doing this exercise has reminded me of a few thing:

  1. Big rocks. I need to take time for the important things in life and work everything else around that. If you fill a jar with water, then try to add sand or rocks to it, you won’t be able to. However, if you begin with the large rocks, at the stones, then the pebbles, sand, and water, you will be able to fit much more in the jar–much more of the important stuff.
  2. Review. Make reviewing my life plan a big rock. Schedule it in and make the less urgent and less important stuff work around it. I have seen and read about many who regularly take time away to review, pray, and plan. I should take those lessons and find a way to implement them into my own life.
  3. Take action Again, I just need to take action and do it!

How do you check your path to assure you are on the correct one? How do you know you are moving?

2 Comments on “Not Running too Fast”

  1. skropp says:

    Great post Nick! It’s always good to be reminded of the importance of setting and reviewing priorities. It reminds me of a quote I love, “When performance is measure, performance improves. When performance is measured and reported, the rate of improvement accelerates.” (Thomas S. Monson).


Leave a Reply

