Keep Dreaming

One of my favorite roller coasters is the Raptor at Cedar Point in Sandusky, Ohio. Probably my second favorite used to be right behind the Raptor in this photo–the Blue Streak. There are many reasons the Raptor is one of my favorite coasters. The biggest has nothing to do with the coaster itself.

Raptor , montagnes russes à Cedar Point

Raptor , montagnes russes à Cedar Point (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The biggest reason the Raptor is my favorite coaster is because of a conversation I had while waiting in line. It was the summer of 1996 and the Raptor was in its third season at Cedar Point. My future wife and I tried to get there each summer while we were dating, it was less than two hours from her home, so an easy trip. That summer we had been dating for about two years and would be married that winter. The line for the Raptor was long, probably close to two hours. This was fine because it meant that my future bride and I could stand in line and talk for that long. On this particular trip, I remember talking about our future together and the dreams we each had.

A funny thing happened after we got to the front of the ride. I don’t recall talking about our dreams again that day. It is like the mechanical bird of prey feasted on our dreams that day. Luckily, they were not gone. We brought them back occasionally in the months following that trip, but I am not sure we ever discussed them with the focused intensity we had that day.

Life can sometimes be like the Raptor, feasting on our dreams. Not that we do not have them, but we allow the day-to-day busyness of life crowd out time for us to dream. So how do we keep that from happening?

  • Write down your dreams I wrote about the power of writing down goals in an early post. Long story short: if you write them down, they have a greater chance of happening.
  • Celebrate along the way When you accomplish a goal, celebrate! It will help you remember that you are making progress and accomplishing something!
  • Revisit your dreams regularly Take some time each year to revisit your list. Check off those that you have accomplished, record the new dreams you have, and remind yourself of what is yet to be accomplished. I always find a couple I completely forgot about when I review my goal list.

I would love to take my bride back to Cedar Point and stand in a long line for the Raptor again, just to talk, uninterrupted, about our new dreams. Sixteen years later I am sure we have new dreams. Unfortunately, the busyness of life often takes over. We have a date coming up this weekend, I think I will take her out and enjoy the conversation!

When was the last time you shared your dreams with someone?

Leave a Reply

