Unexpected #oneword365

“Life is like a box of chocolates; you never know what you will get.” Things happen. Thing you are not expecting. How do you respond when the unexpected occurs? Usually with unexpected things, I tend to grumble at  them. You see, I am a planner. I like to look ahead at what may come down the road. Perhaps it is my scouting background– always needing to “Be Prepared.” Perhaps it is a felt need to always be in control. Whatever it is, I know that I miss a lot because I am not expecting.
Recently, I have written about the unexpected events surrounding the Christmas Story, especially Mary and Joseph,  Zechariah, the pronouncement of John’s birth, and the birth of Jesus. The individuals in these stories could not NOT miss these events. But as I have thought about them over the last couple weeks, I began to wonder how much I am not expecting that I miss. When I found the OneWord365 idea, my mind immediately went to the term UNEXPECTED.
As I thought about this, here are some things I realized I could be missing:
  • Opportunities to will stretch, move, and encourage
  • People and relationships that will make me stronger
  • Experiences that will provide memories with my children
  • Views that show the majesty and splendor of God
  • Lessons from what I read, who I interact with, and what I experience.

So one of my big goals for this year is to look for the unexpected. I will look for the unexpected time to do something special with my kids, to learn a new lesson from a book, to take extra time to develop a connection with someone new, and to be open to what God uses to get my attention.

How about you? If you were to choose one word for 2013, what would it be? Share it in the comments below.

One Comment on “Unexpected #oneword365”

  1. jonstolpe says:

    Epiphany is my word for 2013. I’m excited to see God revealed in new ways in the coming year.


Leave a Reply

