How to Drive in the Snow

Do you like to drive in the snow? I do but know I am biased. My father drove a plow and my mother loved to drive in the snow. Whenever she talks about  the opportunity, she begins talking about her dad and how he taught her. I remember getting a couple of inches just days after I got my driver’s license. I was ready for a new adventure and asked my dad (because mom would have said no) if I could run to town. I was eager to try out this  new surface and see how I did in the 1980 four-speed Chevette that I drove at the time (I often shortened the name and just told people I drove a ‘vette’). Things were going fine until I needed to make my first turn and nearly ended up in the ditch, taking the turn too fast. Eventually, I got home just fine and without damage to the car.

More snowy tracks: a view from the office window

Snowy Tracks (Photo credit: Trevor Coultart)

I woke up this morning to about 8 inches of snow. This was the wet, heavy snow that is great for building snowmen. The roads were where the cars compacted it all night. I had an early meeting at work and left for campus before the city plows had touched our street. There were only a couple of tire tracks down the street and the two intersections I had to get through were a little more treacherous, but I made it fairly easily.
Helping to make this trip easy was that someone had gone there before so there was at least one set of tracks down the street. The car was fairly easy to control and the snow offered relatively little resistance.
I was thinking about Jon Acuff’s Start Night when he talked about the Road to Awesome and the Road to Average. I began to equate my morning path to his Road to Average. It is a road that is traveled by others, offers little resistance, and maintaining control of the car is fairly easy. If I tried to create my own path, the car would quickly get pulled back into the ruts others had created because it is easy. I really had to do nothing to travel down that road. The path is safe because it is well-traveled and fairly clear.
Compare that to Jon’s Road to Awesome. That road is more difficult to travel, like being the first to go down a road with fresh snow. Maintaining control will be more difficult, especially if you try to go your normal speed. You may be white knuckled at times, concentrating on the path you are traveling and not able to look too far ahead. Sometimes altering your route can help you get there easier, especially if the new route helps you avoid big drifts or other obstacles that you find in the way. This path is dangerous. You could slide off the road or get stuck in a pile you did not see. Arriving at your destination feels like an accomplishment and that you have conquered a new adventure.
Want to learn more about navigating the Road to Awesome? Pre order Jon’s book Start. You will also get $250 worth of free stuff.
How do you like to drive in the snow? Do you like the well traveled roads with well-defined tire tracks for a safe journey or creating new paths in fresh snow?

 

One Comment on “How to Drive in the Snow”


Leave a Reply

